RSS

Why my dog Herbie, is a better man than I….

24 Feb
Image

This was the first day we go out little pup

Look at that face.

Everytime I see my dog I can not help but grin.

His name is Herbie Husker, although my wife is convinced that his name his Herbie Ndamukong Husker. Those of you who are from Nebraska, or are fans of Nebraska football will appreciate this. We even got a decroative plate for Christmas that says you know you’re from Nebraska if you have a pet named “Herbie.”

We do, and I think the naem suits him perfectly. When I take Herbie on walks I get a lot of comments about his name.

“Oh, like Herbie the Lovebug.”

No, not like that, but I let them think that. But really, that fits him very well too. When we adpoted Herbie we got a bunch of informational materials about him, and on a sheet under the heading “Favorite thing to do” was “give kisses.”

They were right. He gives a lot of kisses. He can not help himself but to give us kisses everytime we come home, and they would usually last for a good minute or so. That’s a lot of loving, at one time, from a dog. Although my kiss count has gone down dramatically ever since I grew out my beard. I don’t think he likes it. Which has almost made me shave my beard, because I miss his kisses.

The thing I really like about Herbie, and all dogs really, is the fact that he has so much love to give, and he always gives it. He never holds back. Think about that for a moment.

He always loves me. He also always SHOWS me he loves me. He doesn’t withhold it when I make him angry. he doesn’t do things to try and get back at me for not playing with him as much, he doesn’t insult me when I tell him he is being annoying, he never gets angry at me period. All he wants to do is love me, and be loved in return. He loves me so much that when he wags his tail when I come home his whole body moves back and forth because he is just so happy to see me.

That’s awesome. Why can’t I be more like that? Why is it that a dog can show someone unconditional love, but I have no power to?

I was thinking about this because lately, I have not been doing a good job at trying to show others the respect that I want shown to me. Even if I think people are treating me badly, they do not deserve to be treated badly by me. They deserve something a little better, a little more dog-like.

I think we can all take a cue from dogs, they are loyal, they are playful, they are loving.

Lately, I have been extremely busy, which is why you have not seen any posts from me since I started this blog back in September. Well, I have been busy, and uninspired. It has been a weird year for mthus far, and it is only going to get weirder, busier. Like my faith, this blog has been sent to live in an ity bity living space, along with a lot of other things that I use to cherish. Things I looked forward to doing, thing that helped me live in the present. Things like taking my dog for a walk (which I have not been able to do lately, and which I feel extremely guilty for. Afterall he always shows me his love, and I do a poor job of showing him mine.) Oddly enough, I started getting back on track when I took Herbie for a walk the other day. I use to treat our walks as a sort of chore, something that was keeping me from the rest of the day. But instead, it was really introducing me to the day.  Giving me the opportuinty to slow down when life moves fast, to notice all the things I was missing, and had already missed.  I use to think I needed to take him on his walk as fast as I could. But when I take the time to give him the opportuinty to lay down and roll around in the grass, it reminds me that I’m missing a little something everyday.

You should really see him roll around on the ground. It really is quite hilarious. You can see so much of his personality when he does. He is just having the time of his life. He helps me do the same. It’s those little things that I have been missing that he gave back to me in just that one instant.

Little things like laughing.Image

Breathing.

Seeing.

Living.

Taking the time to just be me. To live and be the me who isn’t tied up by obligations, money, responsibility, school, work. That person is much more enjoyable. Much more dog like.

So ya, my dog is ten times the man that I am right now. But what could I do if I could love like a dog?

What could you do?

I encourage you this week to go out and be the dogs that we all should be like. Play. Run. Wag your tail for the ones you love, and for the ones you don’t. Give those you love kisses. Take the time to stop, and roll around in the grass. But most importantly,

Love.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment